The Quixotic Poet

a poet

I never set out to be a poet. If I had my way, I’d be lounging on a beach somewhere, sipping margaritas, and maybe dabbling in real estate. But life, with its twisted sense of humour, had other plans for me. So here I am, trapped in a cramped apartment with a typewriter that’s older than I am, trying to wrangle words into something that resembles poetry.

My name is Frank, and I am a struggling poet.

It’s not that I lack inspiration. Inspiration is everywhere. It’s in the stained walls of my apartment, the endless stream of people trudging past my window, and the faint aroma of despair that clings to my clothes like a second skin. No, my problem is that my inspiration and my ability to articulate it are always at odds, like two cats in a bag clawing at each other until neither can escape.

I had just finished another fruitless session at the typewriter. My latest attempt at a poem, a rambling piece about a man who falls in love with a lamppost, lay crumpled on the floor. I sighed, ran a hand through my hair, and reached for the bottle of whiskey that had become my constant companion.

My neighbour, a self-proclaimed artist named Tom, chose that moment to burst through my door. He was a man of indeterminate age, with wild eyes and a beard that looked like it had been sculpted by a lawnmower. He flung himself onto my couch, nearly dislodging the springs in the process.

“Frank, my boy,” he declared, “I have had an epiphany!”

I took a swig of whiskey. “Is it the same epiphany you had last week? Because that one involved trying to paint with mustard.”

“No, this is different. This is real. I was talking to Mildred, you know, the one who thinks she’s a reincarnated cat, and she said something that struck a chord. We are all characters in a story, Frank. Our lives, our struggles—they’re all being written by some cosmic author.”

I stared at him. “And what did Mildred’s cosmic author say about you painting with mustard?”

Tom waved a hand dismissively. “Details, Frank, mere details. The point is, what if we could communicate with this author? What if we could tell him to write us better lives?”

I laughed. It was a bitter, hollow sound. “Tom, if there is a cosmic author, he’s got a twisted sense of humour. But sure, let’s say you’re right. How do you propose we communicate with this omnipotent wordsmith?”

Tom leaned forward, eyes gleaming. “We write to him. We write our own story, and we force him to take notice.”

PEN and Paradox

The idea was ridiculous, but there was something about it that intrigued me. Maybe it was the whiskey talking, or maybe I was just desperate enough to try anything. Either way, I found myself sitting at my typewriter, staring at a blank page and wondering how to begin a conversation with the universe.

Tom, being Tom, had already started scribbling furiously in a notebook. “Dear Cosmic Author,” he wrote, “we are but humble characters in your grand narrative. We beseech you to grant us better fortunes, to write us into lives of greatness and joy.”

I shook my head. “That’s not how you talk to an author, Tom. You have to capture his interest, make him care about us.”

Tom looked up, pen poised. “And how do you propose we do that?”

I thought for a moment. “We tell our story. We make him see us as real, complex beings. We pour our souls onto the page.”

And so we wrote. For hours, we penned our lives, our dreams, our failures. I wrote about my endless struggle with poetry, the nights spent staring at a blank page, the crushing weight of self-doubt. Tom wrote about his art, his chaotic bursts of inspiration, and his constant battle with mediocrity.

As the words flowed, something strange began to happen. The typewriter, that ancient relic, started to glow. At first, it was just a faint glimmer, but it grew steadily brighter until it was almost blinding.

“Tom,” I said, my voice trembling, “I think it’s working.”

The Cosmic Critic

The glow intensified, and suddenly, we were no longer in my dingy apartment. We found ourselves in a vast library, the air thick with the scent of old books and the soft hum of whispered stories. A figure sat at a massive desk, quill in hand, surrounded by stacks of paper.

The figure looked up, and I felt a chill run down my spine. It was the Cosmic Author, the creator of our lives, and he did not look pleased.

“So,” he said, his voice like the rustling of pages, “you think you can write your own story, do you?”

Tom, ever the brave fool, stepped forward. “We just want a chance,” he said. “A chance to be something more than struggling artists.”

The Cosmic Author regarded us with a mixture of amusement and disdain. “You mortals are always so eager to rewrite your lives. But do you truly understand what it means to change your story?”

He waved a hand, and a book appeared before us. It was our story, written in elegant script. “Every choice you make, every word you write, has consequences. Are you prepared to face them?”

I looked at Tom, then back at the Cosmic Author. “We are,” I said, though my voice wavered.

The Author nodded. “Very well. But remember, every story has its trials. You will not find your path easy.”

And with that, we were back in my apartment, the glow of the typewriter fading. But something had changed. I felt a new determination, a spark of hope. Maybe, just maybe, we could write ourselves a better ending.

Plot Twists and Turns

The days that followed were a whirlwind of writing and rewriting. Tom and I poured our hearts into our story, crafting a narrative that we hoped would catch the Cosmic Author’s attention. We wrote of our struggles, our dreams, our desires. We painted ourselves as heroes in a grand epic, battling against the odds to achieve greatness.

But the more we wrote, the more we realized how difficult it was to shape our destiny. For every triumph we penned, a new challenge arose. Just as my poetry began to gain recognition, I was struck with a crippling case of writer’s block. Tom’s paintings started selling, but he found himself unable to create anything new. It was as if the universe was conspiring to keep us in our place.

One night, as I sat staring at a blank page, Tom burst through the door, a look of manic excitement on his face. “I’ve figured it out, Frank!” he exclaimed. “The key to changing our story isn’t just in writing it—it’s in living it!”

I frowned. “What do you mean?”

“We have to become the characters we want to be,” he said. “We have to take risks, make bold choices. We have to live our story, not just write it.”

It was a crazy idea, but then again, everything about our situation was crazy. And so, we decided to take our fate into our own hands. We started by taking on new challenges and pushing ourselves beyond our comfort zones. I entered poetry slams and readings, baring my soul to the judgment of strangers. Tom began experimenting with new styles and mediums, breaking free from his artistic constraints.

And slowly, things began to change. My poetry started gaining acclaim, and Tom’s art was featured in galleries. We were no longer just struggling artists—we were becoming the heroes of our own story.

The Final Chapter

As our lives transformed, so did our writing. The typewriter, our conduit to the Cosmic Author, began to glow once more. We had proven ourselves, and now it was time for the final test.

One night, as I sat at the typewriter, I felt a presence beside me. It was the Cosmic Author, his expression unreadable.

“You have done well,” he said. “But your story is far from over. Are you ready to face the ultimate challenge?”

I nodded, my heart pounding. “We are.”

The Cosmic Author placed a hand on the typewriter. “Then write your ending, Frank. Write the story you want to live.”

With trembling fingers, I began to type. I wrote of our journey, our struggles and triumphs, our unwavering determination. I wrote of the bond between Tom and me, two dreamers who dared to challenge the universe. And as I typed the final words, the typewriter glowed brighter than ever before.

When the light faded, we found ourselves back in my apartment, but it was different. The walls were no longer stained, the air no longer heavy with despair. We had written ourselves a new beginning, a new chance at life.

Tom grinned, clapping me on the back. “We did it, Frank. We wrote our own story.”

And in that moment, I realized that the true power of storytelling wasn’t in changing the past or controlling the future. It was in the act of creation, the courage to dream, and the will to make those dreams reality.

We had become the authors of our own fate, and for the first time in my life, I felt truly alive.

Author: Neil Morrison

Outside, falling off things.

Leave a comment